day 8

20170208-dscf5779

Living near train tracks has made me very aware of the train schedule. As someone who hates to be late, I have a pretty good idea of when the trains come through every day and when I need to leave the house to avoid them. In the event of a random train, I even have a back up route that takes me a long way around to avoid having to cross the tracks.  These trains are not short by any means. It’s a solid 5-10 minute delay if you get stopped at the tracks. And if you are really unlucky, you might be stopped by a train that ends up stopping and waiting for another train to pass before moving along.

20170208-dscf5556

Getting stopped by a train used to really get my blood boiling.  That is until my oldest became obsessed with trains. Every time we cross the tracks he will ask me if there’s a train coming. On the days we get stopped, his joy overflows and he nearly jumps out of his car seat to see every last car. Last time we saw a train, he had his little camera and snapped at least 30 pictures and cheered the whole time. That definitely started to change my attitude. Instead of seeing the train as a nuisance, I saw it as a chance to slow down and take a breath. I miss a lot by rushing around trying to get things done quickly and efficiently. This momentarily delay is a second for me to breathe, take in the moment and remember that life is a journey, not a destination. I’ll get where I’m supposed to when I’m supposed to. So for now, I will slow down and not rush this moment.

Chris and Laura

 

Leave a Reply

