day 5

20170205-dscf3197

I’m a planner. Financial planning is my chosen profession and even in my personal life, I always have a plan for everything. So undertaking this 365 project, I’ve mapped out destinations and photo shoot ideas, but even still there are days where it’s hard to find inspiration. Today was one of those days. I decided to help find a little inspiration, I’d have the whole family involved. So Liam provided a steady stream of color commentary from the table while Theo helped with the lighting.

All this was happening a half an hour before nap time.  It was organized chaos. But in spite of how loud it was (Theo finding a baking pan and a spoon) and how much longer it took than expected, it was surprisingly peaceful. It was because as husband and wife, we were working together as a team, leaning on the other’s strengths. Then looking later at the photos, I was struck by how my marriage is similar to these two colors. We each have our own unique strengths and weaknesses. It’s incredible when those strengths lead to us to greater success and achievements than we could have accomplished on our own. But there are also ways that we absolutely clash and it looks like a mess, but stepping back and looking at the bigger picture, it’s those clashes that make the overall picture more beautiful.

Chris and Laura

Leave a Reply

