day 1

unadjustednonraw_thumb_515eTime is a funny thing. One moment it seems to fly and then it slows to an interminable crawl.  We are all so vigilant to mark the passage of time with anniversaries and birthdays, always remarking how fast the time has gone. I have been married now for 2,783 days. Some of those days were gloriously happy and others I would rather forget. The last 365 days have been some of the toughest in my nearly 12,000 days I’ve lived on this earth. Those days have made me think long and hard about how I want to spend the remaining days I have. So for the next 365 days, I’m going to focus on slowing down and capturing life’s little moments through my camera lens in an effort to embrace the beauty that surrounds me.

In starting this journey I could think of no greater inspiration than this: a loaf of bread and my Bible- the two things that get me through the day. I don’t know the Bible that well, but I love the passage where it talks about how man can’t live by bread alone but by every word of God. I think about eating an amazing homemade loaf of bread, tearing off chunks and reading through my Bible. It’s a moment of calm in the midst of the storms of life- doubts, marital struggles, and fears. There are two books that I mark as the most important in my life- the Bible and my passport. I have learned more from those two books than any other I have read in all my days.

Chris and Laura

Leave a Reply

